Original Course View End of Life
Institutions will no longer be able to use the Original Course View for active teaching and learning after December 31, 2026. All courses and organizations will be required to use the Ultra Course View starting January 1, 2027.
Original Course View end of life timeline
Date | What happens |
|---|---|
August 6, 2026 | Blackboard LMS displays messages in courses and organizations for non-student roles, informing users that the Original Course View will no longer be supported after December 31, 2026:
|
December 31, 2026 | This is the final day to make changes to courses or organizations using the Original Course View. |
January 1, 2027 | All Original Course View courses and organizations are marked Complete:
Original Course View courses and organizations are no longer accessible in the Blackboard LMS App. All teaching and learning must take place within Ultra courses and organizations. Creating new courses and organizations using the Original Course View is no longer possible. These changes will take place across all environments, test/stage and production, at the same time. |
January 1, 2028 | All Original Course View courses and organizations are converted to Ultra.
Courses and organizations imported or restored using the Original Course View are automatically converted to Ultra. A Playback Environment is available for institutions that need to restore Original Course View courses in their original format, for circumstances such as grade disputes. More information about the Playback Environment will be available as we get closer to 2028. |