Skip to main content

Groups

Instructors can create groups of students within courses. Groups usually consist of a small number of students for study groups or projects.

Your instructor places you in a group or allows you to select the group you want to join. Your instructor chooses which communication and collaboration tools are available to your group.

Using Group enrollment

On the Groups page, you can view the groups you've been enrolled in and join groups that require self-enrollment. Groups with an enrollment period appear first so you don't miss them. Your instructor may add a description to help you choose a group.

Course announcements appear when you need to join one or more groups.

Course announcement prompts informing student to join groups.

You'll also see a notification in your activity stream when you need to join a group.

Activity Stream item about group work.

If you don't choose a group by the end of the enrollment period, you're enrolled automatically.

After you join a group, you can move to another group until the enrollment period ends.

Groups page with a box highlighting options for the user to move to a new group.

Your instructor chooses whether to hide members of groups you can join. Members are hidden in groups where your instructor assigns membership.

Note

Users whose accounts have been disabled are counted in the overall group enrollment total until the course membership or user is purged.

Video: Working in Groups

The following narrated video provides a visual and auditory representation of some of the information included on this page. For a detailed description of what is portrayed in the video, open the video on Vimeo.